Newport Attractions

ABRAHAM RODRIGUES RIVERA HOUSE. Washington Square, Newport, RI. In this building (then the residence of Deputy Governor John Gardiner) the Reverend James Manning, in July, 1763, met with interested citizens and first made the design known to establish a college in the English colony of Rhode Island, which eventually became Brown University. Oldest continuing running bank since 1802. OPEN: Mon-Thu, 9-3 p.m.; Fri, 9-6 p.m. 849-8048.

ARTILLERY COMPANY OF NEWPORT, MILITARY MUSEUM. (1836, NHL) (H) Armory, 23 Clarke Street, Newport, RI. The museum is considered to have one of the most outstanding collections of foreign and domestic militaria to be seen in the United States. Started in 1960, it has grown from a minute collection that today represents over one hundred countries throughout the known world. The command, Rhode Island Militia, chartered in 1741, is the nation's oldest military organization in continuous service under its charter. OPEN: Jun-Sep, Wed-Sun, 10-4 p.m.; Sun, 12 noon-4 p.m. Closed Mondays and Tuesdays. 846-8488.

THE ASTORS' BEECHWOOD MANSION. (1856) 580 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. Summer home of William Backhouse Astor and The Mrs. Astor. Costumed actors re-create the fabulous 1890's lifestyle by remaining in character and treating visitors as if they were personal guests of Mrs. Astor, the undisputed Queen of American society. Living history tours, Murder mystery tours, Tea dance tours, Private parties, Teas, Luncheons and Weddings. OPEN: May 15-Oct 31, daily, 10-5 p.m.; Nov 1-Dec 19, daily, 10-4 p.m. Weekends, Feb-mid-May, 10-4 p.m. 846-3772.

BELCOURT CASTLE. (1894, NR, NHL, NHS, #) (H-1) Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. Louis XIII-style castle designed by Richard Morris Hunt for Oliver H.P. Belmont and the former Mrs. W.K. Vanderbilt. Exhibits a full-size gold Coronation Coach and the largest collection of antiques and treasures in Newport. The only Newport mansion with owners in residence. OPEN: Feb-Mar, Nov-Dec, 10-3 p.m.; Apr-Oct 31, 10-5 p.m. 846-0669.

BOWEN'S WHARF. (H) America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI. Features restored waterfront shopping, restaurant and marine district with cobblestone and brick walkways and a rich blend of 18th, 19th and 20th century history and architecture. OPEN: Summer hours: Mon-Sat, 10-10 p.m.; Sun, 12-7 p.m. Winter hours: Mon-Fri, 10-5:30 p.m.; Sun, 12-5 p.m. 849-2243.

THE BREAKERS.(1895, NR, NHL, PSNC) (H-1) Ochre Point Avenue, Newport, RI. A national historic landmark. Newport's most palatial summer residence was built for Cornelius Vanderbilt by Richard Morris Hunt (1893-1895). The symmetry of design, opulence and lavish use of alabaster, marble, mosaics and antique woods rival the magnificent northern Italian Renaissance palaces after which it was modeled. The 70 room mansion overlooks the Atlantic Ocean. Children's cottage. OPEN: Apr 1-Oct 31, 10-5 p.m.; Jul-Labor Day, Sat until 6 p.m. Decorated for the holidays every other year. 847-1000.

THE BREAKERS STABLE AND CARRIAGE HOUSE. |(1895, NR, PSNC) Coggeshall Avenue, Newport, RI. Built in 1895 by Richard Morris Hunt, this incredible building, fully equipped and staffed, was an extremely important addition to The Breakers. A private collection of various Vanderbilt memorabilia, including the famous coach Venture, is on display. A special exhibit "All aboard! The New York Central with the Vanderbilts." OPEN: Jul 1-Labor Day, weekends, 10-5 p.m. 847-1000.

BRICK MARKET PLACE. (1762, NHL) Long Wharf, Thames Street and America's Cup Ave, Newport, RI. Designed by Peter Harrison and used initially as a market and granary. Now, the quaint restored area offers a tremendous variety of gift shops, boutiques and restaurants. OPEN: 7 Days, Year-round.

CASTLE HILL COAST GUARD STATION. (1940) (H-2, H-3) Ocean Drive, Newport, RI. ndividual visitors and groups welcome by appointment during daylight hours. Contact the Officer of the Day at 846-3676.

CHANNING MEMORIAL CHURCH. (1880) (H) 135 Pelham Street, Newport, RI. Dedicated to William Ellery Channing, leader of American Unitarianism and anti-Slavery movement. Built largely of porphyritic granite. Stained glass windows by John LaFarge and Donald MacDonald; bronze plaque by Augustus Saint-Gaudens. Church of Julia Ward Howe, author of Battle Hymn of the Republic. Sunday worship, 10 a.m. OPEN: By appt. 846-0643.

CHATEAU-SUR-MER. (c. 1852, NR, PSNC) Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. Considered one of America's finest examples of lavish Victorian architecture and design. Built for China trade merchant, William S. Wetmore, it was renovated by Richard Morris Hunt in 1872. Some original furnishings and beautiful trees on the grounds. OPEN: Apr, Sat-Sun, 10-5 p.m.; May 1-Sep 30, daily, 10-5 p.m.; weekends in Oct; Nov-Mar, Sat-Sun, 10-4 p.m. Decorated for the holidays, Dec, 10-4 p.m. 847-1000.

CLIFF WALK. Begins at Memorial Boulevard. The 3.5 mile picturesque walk overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and adjoining many famous Newport summer mansions. Designated a National Recreation Trail in 1975. 849-8048, 800-326-6030.

CONTINENTAL SLOOP PROVIDENCE. Fort Adams State Park. This l0-gun, 110' topsail sloop is a reproduction of the first ship commissioned by the Continental Navy and the first command of John Paul Jones. On March 4, l776, the U.S. Marine Corps made its first amphibious landing at New Providence Island in the Bahamas from the Providence. For sailing and visitor information, Box 76, Newport, RI 02840. OPEN: Available for education under sail, dockside events and group charter. 846-1776.

THE DOLL MUSEUM. 520 Thames Street, Newport, RI. Featuring a fine collection of antique and modern dolls. Museum gift shop. Mon, Wed-Sat, 10-5 p.m.; Sun 12-5; closed Tue. 849-0405.

EDWARD KING HOUSE. (c. 1846, NHL) (H) Aquidneck Park, 35 King Street, Newport, RI. Designed by Richard Upjohn for Edward King, the mansion is considered one of the finest villas of Italianate design in America. Now a Senior Citizen's Center. OPEN: Year-round, Mon-Fri, 9-4 p.m. Arts and crafts shop. 846-7426.

THE ELMS. (1901, NR, PSNC) (H-1) Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. Magnificent estate of the late E.J. Berwind, Philadelphia coal magnate. Designed by famous Philadelphia architect Horace Trumbauer and modeled after the early 18th century Chateau of Asnieres near Paris. Formal sunken garden designed by French landscape architect, Jacques Greber. Decorated for Christmas in December. OPEN: Apr, Sat-Sun, 10-4 p.m.; May 1-Oct 31, daily, 10-5 p.m.; Nov-Mar, Sat-Sun, 10-4 p.m. 847-1000.

FORT ADAMS STATE PARK. (NHL) (H) Ocean Drive, Newport, RI. The second largest bastioned fort in the U.S. Key to Narragansett Bay area defenses, 1799 to 1945. Designed to be the most heavily armed fort in America and to garrison 2,400 troops. Sprawling over 21-acres, its extensive landward defenses include listening tunnels, powder magazines and breast height walls. Three tiers of guns to defend the East Passage of Narragansett Bay. Two soccer and one rugby field. For guided tour information call 841-0707. Picnic area, bathing beach, fishing piers, boat launching ramps. For boat hoist contact Sail Newport. OPEN: Dawn to Dusk. 847-2400.

FRIENDS MEETING HOUSE. (1699) Farewell Street and Marlborough Street, Newport, RI. The oldest religious structure in Newport. Expanded in 1729 and 1807; recently restored. Home of the New England Yearly Meeting of the Society of Friends, until 1905. The Quakers were the dominant religious group for the first 100 years of the Colony's history; and as late as 1730, over half of the people in Newport were members of the society. For more information write to the Newport Historical Society at 82 Touro Street, Newport, RI 02840. OPEN: By appt. only. Call one week in advance. 846-0813.

HUNTER HOUSE. (1748, NHL, PSNC) (H-1) 54 Washington Street, near Goat Island Causeway. Exhibition of Newport's original and famous Townsend-Goddard furniture, silver and portraits of the period. Revolutionary War headquarters of French Admiral de Ternay. Restored 18th century garden. OPEN: Apr, Sat-Sun, 10-5 p.m.; May 1-Sep 30, daily, 10-5 p.m., weekends in October. 847-1000.

INTERNATIONAL TENNIS HALL OF FAME. (1880, NR, NHL) (H) 194 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. The museum is housed in the Newport Casino, an architectural masterpiece built in 1880. The six-acre facility played host to the U.S. National Lawn Tennis Championships, now known as the U.S. Open, from 1881-1914. Visitors can tour the grounds, which include 13 grass tennis courts. Grass courts are open to the public from May to October and host major professional tournaments each summer. Tennis history comes alive at the world's largest tennis museum, which opened five newly renovated galleries in July 1995. New exhibitions focus on the modern game. A simulated tennis gallery and interactive videos allow visitors to test their tennis savvy. OPEN: Year-round, 10-5 p.m. 849-3990, 849-6053, 846-0642(pro shop).

KINGSCOTE. (1839, NR, PSNC) Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. Charming Gothic-revival cottage built in 1839 by Richard Upjohn as a summer residence for George Noble Jones of Savannah, Georgia. Considered the nation's first summer cottage. House features the celebrated McKim, Mead and White dining room, added in 1881, with Tiffany glass wall and cork ceiling. Exhibits Townsend-Goddard furniture and outstanding Chinese export paintings and porcelains. OPEN: Apr, Sat-Sun, 10-5 p.m.; May 1-Sep 30, daily, 10-5 p.m.; weekends in Oct. 847-1000.

MARBLE HOUSE. (1892, NR, PSNC) (H-1) Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. Mansion built for William K. Vanderbilt. Louis XIV-period predominates. Building utilizes features of the Grand and Petit Trianons at Versailles. Harold S. Vanderbilt Memorial Room features yachting trophies and memorabilia. Chinese Tea House (1913-1914) on grounds. Tea house open only May-Oct. Decorated for the holidays in December every other year. OPEN: Apr-Oct 31, daily, 10-5 p.m.; Nov-Mar, Sat-Sun, 10-4 p.m. 847-1000.

MUSEUM OF NEWPORT HISTORY. (H) Brick Market, Newport, RI. The Museum provides the whole family with an overview of Newport's rich and varied history and architectural beauty. Living history told through objects, images and paintings as well as state-of-the-art interactive computers and videos. Mon, Wed-Sat, 10-5 p.m.; Sun, 1-5 p.m., closed Tuesdays. 841-8770.

THE MUSEUM OF YACHTING. Fort Adams State Park. Housed in a 19th century brick building on the waterfront, the museum chronicles the history of yachting through its displays of photos, paintings, memorabilia and various vessels. Galleries include: The Mansions & The Yachts; Small Craft Gallery; Hall of Fame for Singlehanded Sailing; America's Cup Gallery. Also featured are special exhibits and in-water displays. OPEN: May 15-Oct 31, 10-5 p.m. daily. 847-1018.

NAVAL WAR COLLEGE MUSEUM. (1820, NHL) (H, H-3) 686 Cushing Road, Newport, RI. In Founders Hall, (1820), original site of the Naval War College (1884) and site of historian Alfred Thayer Mahan's writings of the epochal, The Influence of Sea Power Upon History, 1660-1783, first published in 1890. A national historic landmark exhibits on the history of naval warfare and the naval heritage of Narragansett Bay. Public access through Gate 1 of the Naval Education and Training Center. OPEN: Year-round, Mon-Fri, 10-4 p.m.; Jun-Sep, Sat-Sun, 12-4 p.m. Closed holidays. 841-4052, 841-1317.

THE NEWPORT AQUARIUM. (H) Easton's Beach. Pet a live shark! Hold a living fossil. Discover the fascinating world of Narragansett Bay. Fun for the whole family. OPEN: Memorial Day-Labor Day, daily, 10-5 p.m. . 849-8430.

NEWPORT ART MUSEUM AND ART ASSOCIATION. (NR) (H-1) 76 Bellevue Avenue, opposite Touro Park. Founded in 1912 by a group of prominent artists, it is housed in the former Griswold Mansion (1864), designed by Richard Morris Hunt (the architect of many Newport mansions) in the Stick Style and the Cushing Memorial Gallery (1921). Changing exhibitions of contemporary and historical art of Newport and New England. The museum offers art classes, lectures, tours, performing arts events and evening musical picnics. OPEN: Sep 12-May 28, Tue-Sat, 10-4 p.m.; Sun, 12-4 p.m.; May 29-Sep 10, open daily, 10-5 p.m. 848-8200.

NEWPORT CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. (c. 1835, NR, SPNEA) Spring and Pelham Streets. Congregation gathered in 1695. Entire decor including stain glass windows, murals and ceiling murals designed by John LaFarge around 1880. This is one of only two churches in the country completely decorated by LaFarge. OPEN: by appt. 849-2238.

NEWPORT HISTORICAL SOCIETY. (#) 82 Touro Street. The society is a resource center for the study and appreciation of Newport's history. Museum with changing exhibitions of photographs, paintings, Townsend-Goddard furniture, silver and china. Research facilities include library and archival manuscript materials with earliest town records, merchant account books and important collections in architectural history and photography. Attached is Seventh Day Baptist Meeting House (1729). OPEN: Jun 15-Aug 31, Tue-Sat, 9:30-4:30 p.m., but closes Sat at 12 noon rest of year. 846-0813.

THE NEWPORT PLAYHOUSE. 102 Connell Hwy. Since 1983 the Playhouse has been a favorite with locals as well as tourists. Experience the fabulous buffet followed by a wonderful play in an intimate theater and stay for a fun, exciting cabaret! 848-PLAY.

OLD STONE MILL. Touro Park. Much time and effort have been spent to determine the mill's origin. Most popular theory is that it was built by Norsemen before Columbus' voyage; academic theory has it built by a Colonial farmer. OPEN: Dawn to Dusk.

REDWOOD LIBRARY AND ATHENAEUM. (1748-50; NHL) (H) 50 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. Oldest library building in America. Outstanding collection of 18th and 19th century portraits. OPEN: Mon-Sat, 9:30-5:30 p.m. Call ahead as planned renovation may impact accessibility for both building and paintings. 847-0292.

THE RHODE ISLAND FISHERMAN AND WHALE MUSEUM. 18 Market Square, Newport, RI, Seamen's Church Institute. Explore the hands-on exhibits, pilot a fishing vessel in the replica of a ship's wheelhouse, go on a whale watch without going to sea, eavesdrop on real fisherman over the marine radio and try your hands at knot-tying. An educational museum devoted to increasing awareness of the marine environment. OPEN: Daily, 10-5 p.m. Closed Wednesdays. 849-1340.

ROSECLIFF. (1902, NR, PSNC) (H-1) Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI. Overlooking famous Cliff Walk and Atlantic Ocean. Built for Hermann Oelrichs. Designed by McKim, Mead and White; modeled after the Grand Trianon at Versailles. Features Newport's largest private ballroom. Presented to Preservation Society of Newport County by Mr. & Mrs. Edgar Monroe of New Orleans. Scene of several movies including "True Lies" in 1994. OPEN: Apr-Oct 31, daily, 10-5 p.m. 847-1000.

SALVE REGINA UNIVERSITY. (NHS) (H) 100 Ochre Point Avenue, Newport, RI. Administration building, Ochre Court (1888-91), designed by Richard Morris Hunt. Visitors are invited to stroll the seaside campus rimmed by the Cliff Walk, view the exteriors of twenty 19th-century buildings and tour the first floor of Ochre Court. OPEN: Mon-Fri, 9-5 p.m. 847-6650, Ext. 2380.

SAMUEL WHITEHORNE HOUSE. (NR, NRF) 416 Thames Street, Newport, RI. This Federal-period house features the exquisite furniture, silver and pewter made by Newport's famed artisans from 1740-1840. A garden completes this Federal showcase. OPEN: May-Oct, Tue-Thu, by appt. with 24-hour notice; Fri, 1-4 p.m.; Sat-Mon and holidays, no appt. necessary, 10-4 p.m. 847-2448, 849-7300, 849-7301.

SEVENTH DAY BAPTIST MEETING HOUSE. (1729, NR) 82 Touro Street, Newport, RI. Adjacent to Newport Historical Society Museum. Built in 1729, possibly by Richard Munday, the Meeting House is the oldest of its faith in America and contains a beautiful pulpit and William Claggett clock. OPEN: Call for hours and appts. 846-0813.

ST. MARY'S CHURCH. (H) Spring Street, Newport, RI. Oldest Roman Catholic parish in Rhode Island, established April 8, 1828. Location of wedding of Jacqueline Bouvier to John Fitzgerald Kennedy, September 12, l953. OPEN: Mon-Fri, 7-11 a.m. Closed holidays. 847-0475.

TOURO SYNAGOGUE. (1763, NHS, NHL) 85 Touro Street, Newport, RI. Oldest synagogue on North American continent. Designed by Peter Harrison. Symbol of religious freedom throughout the world. Oldest torah in North America on display. George Washington letter, 1790. Services in summer, Fri, 7 p.m.; Sat, 9 a.m.; rest of year, Fri, 6 p.m.; Sat, 9 a.m. Summer- daily, subject to daily conditions. OPEN: May-Jun, Mon-Thu, 1-3 p.m.; Late Jun-Labor Day, Sun-Thu, 10-4 p.m.; Fri, 10-3 p.m.; Sep-Oct 15, Mon-Thu, 1-3 p.m.; Other times, Sun, 1-3 p.m. and by appt. 847-4794.

TRINITY CHURCH. (1725-26, NR, NHL) (H) Queen Anne Square, Spring and Church Streets, Newport, RI. Parish founded 1698. Washington worshipped here in Pew 81. One of the finest structures in America. Features only three-tiered, wine glass pulpit in America. Organ tested by Handel before sent from England by philosopher Bishop George Berkeley. Queen Elizabeth II and the Archbishop of Canterbury visited in 1976. Tiffany stained glass windows. $3 million rehabilitation completed in 1987 to original specifications. The church has been in use since 1726. OPEN: May, daily, 1-4 p.m.; Jun 15-Labor Day, 10-4 p.m.; Sep 8-Apr 30, 10-1 p.m.; Sun worship (Episcopal), 8 & 11 a.m. (summer, 8 & 10 a.m.). 846-0660.

WANTON-LYMAN-HAZARD HOUSE. (1675, NR) 17 Broadway near Washington Square. Oldest restored house in Newport. Home of Colonial Governors, Tories, Patriots, Supreme Court Justices and site of the Stamp Act Riot of 1765. A tour of the house illustrates the exciting history of Colonial and revolutionary America, as seen through the daily life of individual Newporters. Colonial herb garden. OPEN: Summer Hours, Open by appt., call for other times. 846-0813.

WHITE HORSE TAVERN. (1673, NR, NHL) corner of Marlborough and Farewell Streets, Newport, RI. Oldest operating tavern in America featuring American cuisine and gracious service. Ask to be seated near fireplace during the winter months. Open: Daily for lunch & dinner. Closed Tuesday for lunch. Sunday Champagne Brunch. 849-3600.